Any info on MivaStyle.com (Miva Electronics)? Can’t find any info to determine their reputability. Thanks!

miva
Copper Creek asked:


Thinking of making a purchase from them and want to make sure they are a reputable company not a scam.

Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Webnews
  • MisterWong
  • Y!GG

3 comments to Any info on MivaStyle.com (Miva Electronics)? Can’t find any info to determine their reputability. Thanks!

  • ttcheng

    Ditto on your question. Their prices look great but buying with e-gold seems like quite a hassle and seems to lack the buyer protection of a credit card. I tried to research them on the web under mivastyle and miva electronics.

    I didn’t come up with anything at the Better Business Bureau.

    I did come up with this company info at AliBaba (see link below), which suggest that they have direct factory connections in Asia:

    We offer many electronic products brand name like Sony, Panasonic, JVC, Nikon, Toshiba, Apple, Kenwood, BenQ, Canon, Samsung, Motorola, Nokia and Alpine. All in the best discount price you may find in an online store! All products in our store are new, in original box, we do not sell refurbished or used products! Our prices are incredible, this is due to the fact that we import all of our products from established manufacturing facilities in the Far East, including China, Taiwan, Japan, Korea, in large quantities and, as an Online and Mail Order seller, operate at a low overhead cost. We are affiliated with other online sites, which gives us even more buying power and inventory access. You can place an order via fax or Internet.

    We use UPS or FedEx for shipping. All shipments are fully insured at no extra charge.

    Company Name: Miva-electronics
    Contact Person: Mr. Daniel j. Oconnell
    Address: P. O. Box 788, [S]ummerland, California, United States
    Telephone: 1–917-591-3038
    Fax: 1–917-591-3038

    I also found info on the company at TradeExPro (see link below):

    Contact Person: Richard Todd
    Job Title: Sales and Purchasing, Sales and Purchasing Manager
    Location: US – Connecticut
    Online Video Conferencing / Meeting Point
    Classification(s): Computers Software – PC, Computer
    Consumer Electronics – DVD, VCD, MP3
    Consumer Electronics – TVs
    Primary Business Type(s): Distributors / Wholesalers
    Company Description: Miva Electronics is based East Lyme, Connecticut, We are dedicated to bring the highest quality products at rock bottom prices. How do we do it? Simple. We directly import all of our products from established manufacturing facilities in the Far East, including China, Taiwan, Japan, Korea.Through this direct selling model, middleman cost is minimized and so we pass on all savings to you! In addition, because of our sophisticated vertically integrated supply chain system and streamlined order fulfillment system, we are able to truly offer high quality products at unbelievably low price with best customer service.All products advertised on Miva Electronics` cyber store, are brand new factory sealed models, unless otherwise specified on our product pages.
    All items advertised with Miva Electronics are in stock, unless posted otherwise. If an item is on back order you will be contacted via phone message or email.

    You’ve probably seen them coming up in the shopping search engines but there’s no merchant ratings for them yet.

    I also did a whois search and found their domain name was registered at GoDaddy on 4/30/06, fairly recently:

    Registered Through
    GoDaddy.com, Inc.
    Domain Name: MIVASTYLE.COM
    Created on: 2006-04-30 08:21:35
    Expires on: 2007-04-30 13:21:35
    Last Updated on: 2006-04-30 08:21:36

    Domain Servers
    PARK11.SECURESERVER.NET
    PARK12.SECURESERVER.NET

    But, interestingly, the domain was registered by proxy (I don’t know what this implies):

    Registration Private (Domains by Proxy, Inc.)
    (480) 624-2599 Phone
    DomainsByProxy.com
    15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
    Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
    United States

    In summary, they look pretty new to me and they don’t have an established track record. Also, buying from them looks a little suspicous. I’m going to email them. I’ll let you know what I find out.

    Hope this helps.

    Tom

  • Bjorn B

    Hey Copper Creek,

    I’ve also been thinking about buying at. I’ve tried to do my own personal search as well. I came up with some of the same things as ttcheng.

    John S. from told me to be very careful.

    Actually he told me:
    ———————-

    I’ve never heard of Miva Style. Therefore, I wouldn’t trust them. You can post a question on our Dealer Feedback forum to see if anyone else knows anything about them:

    ———————-

    So, I did. You can see my thread at:

    Their you can also see a map and some pictures from a Google search. They are pinpointing where in Los Angeles MivaStyle.com allegedly should be located.

    I’ve also contacted MivaStyle.com. First they got upset with me for asking them if they could give me some reassurance that they were real and not a scam.

    I’ve got this reply:
    ———————-

    We process more than 50 orders per day with out any problem.
    We’re sorry to hear that you call us SCAM.
    Please go and place your order trough other vendor.

    Regards
    Tanya Evans
    Customer Service
    Miva Electronics Inc.

    ———————-

    Next, they tried to be helpful:
    ———————-

    We are a reputable company.
    As you can se our company has a security certificate.
    If you would like to view our security certificate please login to your account then Checking for an active padlock in the browser status bar. Double-click the lock icon to display the security certificate for the site. This certificate is proof of the identity for the site.

    Regards
    Tanya Evans
    Customer Service
    Miva Electronics Inc.

    ———————-

    I’ve checked and found that their certificate is issused by Starfield Secure Certification Authority.

    Starfield Secure Certification Authority told me, that they couldn’t tell me anything about MivaStyle.com. Only that they were providing a secure website for them. Well, well, what does that tell us? Nothing. MivaStyle.com can still be a scam. And I’m affraid none of us can be sure until we try to do business with them.

    Anyway I really hope that is not a scam.

  • Peter S

    Heres another company to make things interesting..

    Ive emailed them and tried to call … nothing … emails get returned undelivered and the phone is disconnected.

    Ok moving on…

    Ive emailed twice no response…
    Ive called them and all I get is a non-descript answering machine message please leave a message

    huh. bummer.

You must be logged in to post a comment.